Coronavirus Update: Washington College responds to coronavirus outbreak. More Info

Offices & Services

Cromwell Center

Events Schedule

Spring 2020

Wednesday, Jan. 29, Sophie Kerr Room, No-Fuss Book Club, Spark of Learning, Ch. 1 & 2, pp. 1-57. 12:30-1:30 or 4:30-5:30

Friday, Feb. 7, 8:30-9:00, Smith 111, CTL Bitesize, Is there an app for that?

Saturday, Feb. 15, Deadline for Cromwell Fellows applications

Feb.10-March 6 CTL Open Classrooms—a chance to observe your colleagues in action! (full schedule and details forthcoming)

Wednesday, Feb. 12, Sophie Kerr Room, No-Fuss Book Club, Spark of Learning, Ch 3, pp. 61-110. 12:30-1:30 or 4:30-5:30

Friday, Feb. 21, Washington’s Birthday Convocation: Presentation of the Cromwell Award for Innovation in Teaching to Prof. Aaron Amick

Wednesday, Feb. 26, Sophie Kerr Room, No-Fuss Book Club, Spark of Learning, Ch 4, pp. 111-143, 12:30-1:30 or 4:30-5:30

 Thursday, March 5, 9:00-9:30, Smith 226, CTL Bitesize, TBA

 POSTPONED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE  Workshop with Dr. Bryan Dewsbury (Hynson Lounge) 

 

Title: A Chance at Birth

Summary: “Developing empathy and an authentic understanding of the lived experiences of others can be helped by ‘walking in their shoes’. In this workshop, we will simulate using real data what it means to live the life of others. We will then use the experience of this walk to unpack and discuss the implications of people’s (especially students’) positioning on the diverse American socioeconomic spectrum.”

 

POSTPONED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE Keynote by Dr. Bryan Dewsbury (Hodson Faculty lounge)

Title: The revolution will be backward designed: The promise and practice of inclusive teaching.

Summary: “Discussions of inclusive practices often center on historical wrongs and the righting of deficits associated with representation and social barriers. While this is valid, inclusive teaching practices must transcend content and the present and help shape as its primary objective the kind of society we wish to see. In this talk we will outline what the components of that vision might be and unpack in the context of an introductory biology course what practices are important in the present day to help toward that vision.”

 POSTPONED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

Wednesday, March. 25, Via ZOOM, No-Fuss Book Club, Spark of Learning, Ch 5, pp. 143-180. 12:30-1:30 or 4:30-5:30

Friday, March 27, Via ZOOM, 8:30-9:00,  CTL Bitesize, Trouble-shooting the move online

Wednesday, April 8, Via ZOOM, No-Fuss Book Club, Spark of Learning, Ch 6 & conclusion, pp. 181-215, 12:30-1:30 

 

Fall 2019

 

Monday, Sept. 16, 11:30-12:30, Hodson Lounge, Masticate & Confabulate on Inclusivity RSVP

Thursday, Sept. 19, 9:00-9:30, Smith 111, CTL Bitesize, Group conversation: New year, new you?: new initiatives in your classroom this academic year

Thursday, Sept. 26,3:30-4:30 pm (note time change!), Sophie Kerr Room, Emerald Stacy, “Inspiring Wonder in Calculus Through Student-Designed Projects.”

Tuesday, Oct. 8, 11:30-12:30, Hodson Lounge, Masticate & Confabulate on Spicing up your lecture RSVP

Tuesday, Oct 22,4:00-5:00 pm, Hynson Lounge (Hodson Hall) Panel on “Your Students and Secondary Education” featuring high school educators and WAC alumnae: Marlo Coppage, Karen Hansen, Kiri Krauss, and Melissa Walters.

Friday, Oct. 25, 8:30-9:00, Smith 111: CTL Bitesize, Lauren Littlefield and Sara Clarke-Vivier, “Techniques to activate students’ working memory.”

Thursday, Nov. 7,9:00-9:30, Smith 111: CTL Bitesize, Anne Marteel Parish and Libby Yost, “Forays into Service Learning.”

Thursday, Nov. 14, 11:30-12:30, Hodson Lounge. Masticate & Confabulate on Encouraging deep and critical thinking RSVP

Thursday, Nov. 21, 9:00-9:30, Smith 111: CTL Bitesize, Emily Steinmetz, “Reflections on Student-directed Syllabi.”

Tuesday, Dec. 3, 11:30-12:30, Hodson Lounge. Masticate & Confabulate on Facilitating group work RSVP