Washington Signature
[ Search and Navigation ]   [ View Full Site ]

C.V. Starr Center for the

Study of the American Experience


Flora Fraser

The Washingtons: George and Martha, “Join’d by Friendship, Crown’d by Love”




Mary Sarah Bilder for Madison’s Hand: Revising the Constitutional Convention (Harvard)

Kathleen DuVal for Independence Lost: Lives on the Edge of the American Revolution(Random House)

Robert Middlekauff for Washington’s Revolution: The Making of America’s FirstLeader (Knopf)

Janet Polasky for Revolutions Without Borders: The Call to Liberty in the Atlantic World (Yale)

David Preston for Braddock’s Defeat: The Battle of the Monongahela and the Road to Revolution (Oxford)

John Sedgwick for War of Two: Alexander Hamilton, Aaron Burr, and the Duel That Stunned the Nation (Penguin).


February 11, 2016: Washington College Announces Seven Finalists for 2016 George Washington Book Prize

May 25, 2016: Fraser Takes 2016 Washington Prize

August 30, 2016: Washington Winner Celebration