New Honors for Math and Computer Science


The College’s Department of Mathematics and Computer Science is celebrating its new chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon, the national honor society in math.


Washington College’s Department of Mathematics and Computer Science this fall earned the distinction of chartering a new chapter of the Pi Mu Epsilon national honor society in math. Chad Awtrey, assistant professor of mathematics at Elon University and a member of the PME Council, was on hand at the mid-November ceremony to confer the honors naming the Maryland Iota Chapter at Washington College.

Not only does the new chapter recognize the department’s excellent students, say members of the faculty, it makes a wide array of national opportunities available to them.

“Pi Mu Epsilon does a lot to promote mathematics and support students,” says Nathaniel Schwartz, assistant professor of mathematics. “PME provides opportunities for students to travel and present their work at national conferences; it even provides funding for travel. The society annually co-organizes a conference with the Mathematical Association of America, and this is a perfect place for students to present their own research.

“Getting a new chapter of PME at Washington College is a statement about our commitment to our students and our engagement with the mathematics community at the local and national levels.”

Charter members honored at the induction ceremony are Bryten Ives ’16 and Kelly Okerblom ’16. Non-charter members are: Jacquelyn Creitz ’17; Brian Gicking ’16; Brittney Hubbard ’16; Laurel Jones ’16; Blair Kang ’16; Rachel Kurtz ’16; Maisie Newman ’16; Alex Roberts ’17; and Benjamin Sigmon ’16.

Faculty advisors are Schwartz; Eugene Hamilton, professor of mathematics; Austin Lobo, associate professor of computer science and chair of the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science; Dylan Poulsen, assistant professor of mathematics; and Shaun Ramsey, associate professor of computer science.