1-Mattis Justo Quam


1-consectetur. Curabitur blandit tempus porttitor. Praesent commodo cursus magna, vel scelerisque nisl consectetur et. Duis mollis, est non commodo luctus, nisi erat porttitor ligula, eget lacinia odio sem nec elit.


Kathryn Nuernberger awarded 2020 Mary Wood Fellowship

  • Kathryn Nuernberger, 2020 Mary Wood Fellow
    Kathryn Nuernberger, 2020 Mary Wood Fellow

Location: Rose O’Neill Literary House

April 05, 2019

The Rose O’Neill Literary House has named poet, lyric-essayist, and editor Kathryn Nuernberger the winner of the 2020 Mary Wood Fellowship.

In April 2020, we will host poet, lyric-essayist, and editor Kathryn Nuernberger for a 3-day residency as our 2020 Mary Wood Fellow. The Mary Wood Fellowship is a nationwide competition and Kathryn was selected from a pool of outstanding applicants. As part of her duties while in-residence, Kathryn will hold one-on-one meetings with a select group of female and nonbinary student nonfiction-writers. She will also participate in two public events, giving a craft talk and a reading from her work. 

Kathryn Nuernberger’s collection of lyric essays, Brief Interviews with the Romantic Past (Ohio State University Press, 2017), won the Non/Fiction Prize from The Journal. Her third poetry collection, Rue, is forthcoming in Spring 2020 (BOA). The End of Pink (BOA, 2016), won the 2015 James Laughlin prize from the Academy of American Poets, and Rag & Bone (Elixir, 2011), won the 2010 Antivenom Prize. She teaches in the MFA Program at University of Minnesota and has received grants from the NEA, American Antiquarian Society, and the Bakken Museum of Electricity in Life. 

The Mary Wood Fellowship at The Rose O’Neill Literary House is awarded biennially to a female-identifying writer—in poetry, fiction, or creative nonfiction—who has published at least one book. The Fellowship enables female and nonbinary creative writing students at Washington College to work with and learn from successful female writers like Nicky Beer, Shara Lessley, Laura van den Berg, Hannah Tinti, and Irina Reyn, who spend multiple days on campus. Eastern Shore author Mary Wood, whose support makes the fellowship possible, is a ’68 graduate of the College and a former member of its Board of Visitors and Governors. 

Last modified on Apr. 5th, 2019 at 2:41pm by Lindsay Lusby.