1-Mattis Justo Quam


1-consectetur. Curabitur blandit tempus porttitor. Praesent commodo cursus magna, vel scelerisque nisl consectetur et. Duis mollis, est non commodo luctus, nisi erat porttitor ligula, eget lacinia odio sem nec elit.


David Mills awarded 2019 Cave Canem Residency

  • David Mills, 2019 Cave Canem Summer Resident
    David Mills, 2019 Cave Canem Summer Resident

Location: Rose O’Neill Literary House

April 08, 2019
The Rose O’Neill Literary House has awarded this year’s Cave Canem Residency to poet David Mills.

In June 2019, the Rose O’Neill Literary House will welcome David to Chestertown for a month-long writer’s retreat. He was selected from this year’s pool of applicants as the winner of the Literary House’s 2019 Cave Canem Summer Residency

David Mills holds an MFA from Warren Wilson College, where he received a Holden Fellowship. He is the author of two poetry collections, the second, The Sudden Country, was a book-prize finalist. He has received fellowships from the New York Foundation for the Arts, Breadloaf and Cave Canem. His poems have appeared in Ploughshares, Crab Orchard Review, Fence, Rattapallax and Drunken Boat. He has also recorded his poetry on RCA Records, had a play produced by the Juilliard School of Drama and had poems displayed at the Venice Biennale. He lived as writer-in-residence in Langston Hughes’s landmark home. 

The Cave Canem Summer Residency at The Rose O’Neill Literary House is a partnership with Cave Canem, the nation’s preeminent organization for young African American poets. Cave Canem’s mission is to serve as “a home for the many voices of African American poetry and is committed to cultivating the artistic and professional growth of African American poets.” Our Cave Canem Summer Residency is a month-long Chestertown retreat offered annually to one outstanding former Cave Canem Fellow. Previous Summer Residents include poets Lauren Russell (2018), Laura Swearingen-Steadwell (2017), Darrel Alejandro Holnes (2016), Kamilah Aisha Moon (2015), Jamaal May (2014), Yona Harvey (2013), Kevin Vaughn (2012), and Arisa White (2011). 

Last modified on Apr. 8th, 2019 at 2:41pm by Lindsay Lusby.