Applications Open for 2018 Cave Canem Summer Residency

  • News Image
    Laura Swearingen-Steadwell, 2017 Cave Canem Summer Resident at the Rose O'Neill Literary House

Location: Rose O’Neill Literary House

October 26, 2017
The Cave Canem Summer Residency at the Rose O’Neill Literary House is awarded annually to a current Fellow with Cave Canem, a national organization dedicated to growth of African American poets. For the 2018 residency, applications will be accepted through Thursday, March 15, 2018.


In June 2017, poet Laura Swearingen-Steadwell came to Chestertown for a month-long writer’s retreat. Her main responsibility while here: to focus on her own writing, whether that be working on her next poetry collection or another personal writing project that she had been waiting to find the right time to get started on. At the Cave Canem Summer Residency at the Rose O’Neill Literary House, we make now the right time.

After a month of writing and reading and exploring the quiet, rural town and campus, Laura also gave a reading from her work at the June Summer Literary Salon at the Literary House, alongside fiction-writer Jen Michalski and local musical group Harp & Soul.


Now we’re looking for our 2018 Summer Resident and applications are open! Here are more details about how to apply:


The Cave Canem Residency at The Rose O’Neill Literary House includes a public reading as part of the annual Summer Poetry Salon Series. The Fellow is awarded the use of a private, single-family residence for the entire month of June, along with a $1000 honorarium for living expenses. The Fellow also has the option of a private manuscript consultation with the Interim Director of the Literary House, poet James Allen Hall. 

Applicants should send a brief statement of purpose, a CV, and a 10-page poetry sample to Director James Allen Hall:

The Rose O’Neill Literary House

Washington College

300 Washington Avenue

Chestertown, Maryland 21620


For the 2018 Cave Canem Residency at The Rose O’Neill Literary House, applications will be accepted if postmarked by March 15, 2018. The winning candidate will be notified no later than March 31, 2018.


Last modified on Nov. 8th at 9:13pm by Lindsay Lusby.