On Climate Change

The Department of Chemistry invited 1995 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry Mario J. Molina to deliver a lecture on “Chemistry and Climate Change” as part of special ceremonies at which he also received the honorary degree, Doctor of Science. During the ceremonies celebrating the International Year of Chemistry, Professor Anne Marteel-Parrish was installed as the first holder of the Frank J. Creegan Chair in Green Chemistry, established in honor of the man who taught at the College for 40 years. During the post-ceremony reception in the Underwood Lobby, the public viewed a collection of heirlooms from the estate of William O. Baker ‘35, the College’s most distinguished Chemistry alumnus. The collection, which includes the Joseph Priestley Medal, the American Chemical Society’s highest honor and letters of commendation from Presidents Nixon and Reagan, was donated to the College by Joseph Baker, the son of William O. Baker.