Washington Signature
[ Search and Navigation ]   [ View Full Site ]

The Rose O'Neill

Literary House

Summer Literary Salon #1

Date: 4:30pm EDT May 23, 2017

Our first Literary Salon of Summer 2017 will feature readings from poets Kyle Dargan and Piotr Florczyk, as well as music from Fredy Granillo! Join us for an afternoon of poetry & prose, local music, tasty food and drink, and good conversation about the literary life.

Kyle Dargan lives in Washington, D.C. where he edits POST NO ILLS magazine and directs creative writing at American University. He is, most recently, the author of the collection Honest Engine. His other books, also published by the University of Georgia Press, include The Listening (Cave Canem Prize), Bouquet of Hungers (Hurston/Wright Legacy Award) and Logorrhea Dementia. Dargan has partnered with the President’s Committee on the Arts and Humanities to produce poetry programming at the White House and Library of Congress. He’s worked with and supports a number of youth writing organizations, such as 826DC, Writopia Lab and the Young Writers Workshop.


Piotr Florczyk is a poet, essayist, and translator of Polish poetry. His most recent books are East & West, a volume of poems from Lost Horse Press, and two volumes of translations published by Tavern Books, My People & Other Poems by Wojciech Bonowicz, and Building the Barricade by Anna Świrszczyńska, which was longlisted for the 2017 PEN America Award for Poetry in Translation and won the 2017 Found in Translation Award. Florczyk, a doctoral fellow at USC, lives in Mar Vista with his wife and daughter.    


Fredy Granillo is a local artist and musician who has recently emigrated from the tiny and turbulent country of El Salvador, Central America. Fredy has been performing as a guitarist and singer for the past 20 years. He began professionally with the Andean band ‘Yaravi’ and has performed as a soloist since 2012. He is known for his powerful tenor voice and strong rhythmic guitar.


The Summer Literary Salon series is supported in part by the Douglass Wallop Fund.