Clarence Hodson Prize

The Clarence Hodson Prize was established in 2003 through a bequest from Margaret Hodson Black, a second cousin, once removed, of Colonel Clarence Hodson, the founder of the Beneficial Loan Society (later known as the Beneficial Corporation). The inaugural prize was awarded in 2006.

            It is the aim of The Clarence Hodson Prize to reward creativity, initiative and intellectual curiosity with a competitive grant to support an internship, undergraduate research project, or other form of study anywhere in the world.  Requiring an overall grade point average of 3.0 or better and a grade point average in the major of 3.5 (the equivalent of Dean’s List), the Prize (estimated at $2,000, but determined annually by the College’s endowment spending policy) is offered to a sophomore, junior, or senior majoring in the fine or performing arts, with a preference to a student majoring in music, who has achieved distinction among Washington College’s top scholars. 


2006-07 | Patricia Keaton (Music)

2008-09 | Karen Hye (Art)

2008-09 | Rebekah Herbold (Music)

2010-11 | Aaron Selestok (Music)

2010-11 | Darby Hewes (Art)

2011-12 | Benjamin de Seingalt (Drama)

2013-14 | Meagan Symes (Music)

2014-15 | Richard Grouser (Music) 

2015-16 | Lorenz Iversen (Music)