Coronavirus Update: Washington College responds to coronavirus outbreak. More Info

World Languages and Cultures

Sigma Delta Pi

Sigma Delta Pi is a national Hispanic honorary society dedicated to the following purposes:
  1. To honor those who attain excellence in the study of the Spanish language and in the study of the literature and culture of the Spanish-speaking peoples.
  2. To honor those who have made the Hispanic contributions to modern culture better known in the English-speaking world.
  3. To encourage college and university students to acquire a greater interest in and a deeper understanding of Hispanic cultures.
  4. To foster friendly relations and mutual respect between the nations of Hispanic speech and those of English speech.
  5. To serve its membership in whays which will contribute to the attainment of the goals and ideals of the society.

Sigma Zeta Chapter was chartered at Washington College in the spring of 1990 to promote the achievement of the above goals on our campus. Since that time, the Chapter has received 58 persons into membership. Additionally, we have presented honorary membership to three members of the faculty. The Chapter has sponsored lectures and readings, held receptions, and attended dramatic performances in Washington, D.C. At the end of our first year, in 1991, the Chapter was honored with the granting of a Certificate of Honor and Merit by the National Society because of our activities in support of the difusion of Hispanic culture in our area. The Chapter was so honored again in 1992 and for a third time in 1997.

To qualify for membership in the Society students:

  • must have completed three years of study of college-level Spanish or the equivalent, including at least one course in Hispanic literature or culture.
  • must have a minimal GPA of 3.0 in all Spanish courses taken.
  • Must rank in the upper 35% of his/her class and must have completed three semesters of college work.

A student may be admitted while still enrolled in the required Hispanic literature course if all other requirements have been met and if the instructor certifies that the student’s work is at least at the “B” level.

The faculty advisor for Sigma Zeta Chapter is Professor Elena Deanda Camacho.

  • 2012
    • Ryan Bankert
    • Eric Dubrow
    • Sarah Masker
    • Christopher Miller
  • 2011
    • Catherine Black
    • John Decker
    • Sarah Logsdon
    • Cassandra Peart
    • Morgan Phillips
  • 2010
    • Nicole Hovermale
    • Piper Owens
    • Erica Riley
    • Victoria Heydt
  • 2009
    • Carmen A. Castillo
    • Kendall Clark
  • 2008
    • Patricia Bonman
    • Lauren Brunt
    • Kelli Canada
    • Katherine Kirlin
    • Allison Luchey
    • Jennifer Malat
    • Carlo Razuri
    • Wesley Schantz
    • Akin Walker
  • 2007
    • Andrew Abbott
    • Sean Conway
    • Andrea Gessner
    • Laura Morett
    • Brianna Moulton
    • Delores Richards
    • Alexandria Starks
    • Katherine Welch
  • 2006
    • Catherine Aylsworth
    • Alyssa Checkai
    • Sara Chesson
    • Sarah Fritz
    • Frank Hudson
    • Bonnie Loder
    • Shanna Remsen
    • Jeanne Seeberger
    • Isadora Vigier de la Tour
  • 2005
    • Nico Armstrong
    • Jennifer Bockmiller
    • Jessica Cain
    • Christine Horn
    • Erin Kube
    • Brian Matthews
    • Adrienne Nash
    • Stacy Schapiro
    • David Stricker
    • Marilyn Wheatley

Winners of Sigma Delta Pi National Scholarships for Summer Study in Spain and Latin America

  • 1990 - Marc Pabon
  • 1996 - Abby Moss
  • 2001 - Michele Bantz