Washington Signature
[ Search and Navigation ]   [ View Full Site ]


Departmental Awards

The CRC Press Chemistry Achievement Award is given annually to two students from general chemistry who have achieved an outstanding understanding of chemistry. Recipients receive the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
Previous Recipients
  • 2012 - Katherine Kreft and Paige Kube
  • 2011 - Joshua Goheen and Jimmy Comotto
  • 2010 - Jessica Magdeburger and Eshan Patel
  • 2009 - Christine Lynch and Diane Hagmann
  • 2008 - Khadiza Chowdhury and Meaghan Moxley
  • 2007 - Candace Gaull and William Ostrander
The Joseph H. McLain ’37 Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a rising senior who is majoring in chemistry. The scholarship, named for a longtime professor of chemistry and former Washington College president, is valued at $2,500.

The James R. Miller 51 Award For Excellence in Chemistry is given at Commencement to an outstanding senior majoring in chemistry or pursuing premedical studies who has demonstrated special interest and high academic achievement in chemistry.

The Joseph H. McLain 37 Prize is awarded to the graduating senior who shows the greatest promise for making a future contribution to human understanding of chemistry. This prize was endowed in 1982 by members of the American Pyrotechnics Association.