Coronavirus Update: Washington College responds to coronavirus outbreak. More Info

Philosophy Club


The Philosophy Club sponsors Apeiron, a student journal of philosophy and religion which takes its name from the Greek philosophical term meaning “without boundaries” or “indeterminate.”

Appearing annually in April, the journal receives its title Founded by students in 2002, the journal consistently features some of the finest scholarly writing in print by undergraduates at the College.

Since its founding, several contributors have had their work republished in a larger venue, including Bill Spencer ’06, Jennifer Sutphin ’04, Tim Huston ’07 (posthumously, in 2005), and Ben Kozlowski ’08. All of them published in Dialogue, the journal of the Phi Sigma Tau International Philosophy Honor Society.

All students (majors and non-majors) are encouraged to submit essays, articles, and other media for consideration. Every essay submission will be eligible for the Apeiron Essay Prize for the Most Distinguished Essay in Philosophy or Religious Studies, a cash prize of $75.

Submissions for publication will be accepted until March 1 and should be emailed to