Washington Signature
[ Search and Navigation ]   [ View Full Site ]

C.V. Starr Center for the

Study of the American Experience

Jury Members

The George Washington Book Prize jury includes leading historians of the Revolutionary War and the early Republic.


2015 George Washington Book Prize Jury
Rosemarie Zagarri, Jury Chair, George Mason University
Philip Morgan, Johns Hopkins University
Ted Widmer, author/historian

Rosemarie Zagarri, Jury Chair, is University Professor and Professor of History at George Mason University. An historian who specializes in Early American history, she has published four books including Revolutionary Backlash: Women and Politics in the Early American Republic; A Woman’s Dilemma: Mercy Otis Warren and the American Revolution; and The Politics of Size: Representation in the United States, 1776-1850.  Her most recent book project is called “A Tale of Two Empires: Thomas Law, British India, and the Early American Republic.” Dr. Zagarri has received research fellowships from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the American Antiquarian Society, and the American Philosophical Society, and has served as President of the Society for Historians of the Early American Republic. In 2011, she received the Scholarship Award from Mason’s College of Humanities and Social Sciences and was also appointed Distinguished Lecturer by the Organization of American Historians.  In 2013, the GMU Board of Visitors named her a “University Professor,” the highest faculty rank at the university.

Philip Morgan is Harry C. Black Professor in the Department of History, Johns Hopkins University.  He was educated in England at Cambridge University and University College London. His books include Slave Counterpoint: Black Culture in the Eighteenth-Century Chesapeake and Lowcountry which won ten awards, including the Bancroft Prize from Columbia University, the Frederick Douglass Prize from Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery at Yale University, and the Jacques Barzun Prize from the American Philosophical Society.  Among his numerous publications are: African American Life in the Georgia Lowcountry: The Atlantic World and the Gullah Geechee, which won the Georgia State Archives Documenting Georgia’s History Award and the Malcolm Bell, Jr., and Muriel Barrow Bell Award from the Georgia Historical Society; Oxford Handbook of the Atlantic World, 1450-1850 coauthored with Nicholas Canny; and most recently, with Molly Warsh, Early North America in Global Perspective.

Ted Widmer was the inaugural director of the C.V. Starr Center for the Study of the American Experience at Washington College from 2000 to 2006, and the Director and Librarian of the John Carter Brown Library from 2006 to 2012.  From 2012 to 2014 he was a senior adviser to former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton. Prior to his appointment at Washington College, Widmer spent several years at the White House working as special assistant to President Bill Clinton. An award-winning author, Widmer is widely published on topics in American history and politics. His first book, Young America: The Flowering of Democracy in New York City, was the recipient of the 2001 Washington Irving Literary Medal. He is the author of Ark of the Liberties: America and the World and Martin Van Buren.  He is the coauthor with Caroline Kennedy of Listening In: The Secret White House Recordings of John F. Kennedy, and editor of The New York Times: Disunion.

2014 George Washington Book Prize Jury
Gordon S. Wood, Jury Chair, Brown University, Emeritus
Joyce Appleby, University of California, Los Angeles, Emerita
Annette Gordon-Reed, Harvard University

2013 George Washington Book Prize Jury
Carol Berkin, Chair, Baruch College, Emerita and City University of New York
Gretchen Holbrook Gerzina, Dartmouth College
Peter S. Onuf, University of Virginia

2012 George Washington Book Prize Jury
Richard Beeman, Chair, University of Pennsylvania, Emeritus
Thomas Fleming, author/historian
Marla R. Miller, University of Massachucetts

2011 George Washington Book Prize Jury
Mary Beth Norton, Chair, Cornell University.
Daniel Walker Howe, UCLA and Oxford University, Emeritus
David Armitage, Harvard University

2010 George Washington Book Prize Jury
Theodore J. Crackel, chair, Editor in Chief of The Papers 
of George Washington at the University of Virginia
Catherine Allgor, University of California, Riverside
Andrew Cayton, Miami University, Ohio

2009 George Washington Book Prize Jury
Joyce Appleby, Chair, University of California, Los Angeles 
Ira Berlin, University of Maryland 
Jay Winik, author/public historian

2008 George Washington Book Prize Jury
Robert L. Middlekauff, Chair, University of California, Berkeley
Elizabeth A. Fenn, Duke University
Andrew Jackson O’Shaughnessy, University of Virginia

 George Washington Book Prize Jury
Richard Lyman Bushman, Chair, Columbia University
Theodore J. Crackel, University of Virginia
Pauline Maier, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2006 George Washington Book Prize Jury
Gordon Wood, Chair, Brown University
Carol Berkin, Baruch College
Walter Isaacson, Aspen Institute

2005 George Washington Book Prize Jury
Don Higginbotham, Chair, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Philip Morgan, Johns Hopkins University
Barbara Oberg, Princeton University