Washington Signature
[ Search and Navigation ]   [ View Full Site ]

The Rose O’Neill

Literary House

Cave Canem Residency

The Rose O’Neill Literary House partners with Cave Canem to provide a month-long residency in historic Chestertown, Maryland annually to one Cave Canem Fellow. Cave Canem’s mission is to serve as “a home for the many voices of African American poetry and is committed to cultivating the artistic and professional growth of African American poets.”

The Cave Canem Residency at The Rose O’Neill Literary House includes a public reading as part of the annual Summer Poetry Salon Series. The Fellow is awarded the use of a private, single-family residence for the entire month of June, along with a $1000 honorarium for living expenses. The Fellow also has the option of a private manuscript consultation with the Interim Director of the Literary House, poet James Allen Hall. 

Applicants should send a brief statement of purpose, a CV, and a 10-page poetry sample to Director James Allen Hall:

The Rose O’Neill Literary House

Washington College

300 Washington Avenue

Chestertown, Maryland 21620


For the 2018 Cave Canem Residency at The Rose O’Neill Literary House, applications will be accepted if postmarked by March 15, 2018. The winning candidate will be notified no later than March 31, 2018.



Laura Swearingen-Steadwell is a poet and editor living in Brooklyn. She won the 2016 Cave Canem Northwestern University Poetry Prize, and her second book, All Blue So Late, will be published by Northwestern University Press in November. She is a Cave Canem and Callaloo Fellow, and a graduate of the MFA Program for Writers at Warren Wilson College.

Laura Swearingen-Steadwell will be in-residence at Washington College from Thursday, June 1 - Friday, June 30, 2017.





2016 - Darrel Alejandro Holnes

2015 - Kamilah Aisha Moon

2014 - Jamaal May

2013 - Yona Harvey

2012 – Kevin Vaughn

2011 – Arisa White