Washington Signature
[ Search and Navigation ]   [ View Full Site ]

The Rose O'Neill

Literary House

Sophie Kerr Lecture Series: A Reading by Mark Doty

Date: 4:30pm EDT September 16, 2014

Part of the Living Writers Series

The author of eight books of poetry, Mark Doty is one of only two Americans to ever have won Britain’s prestigious T.S. Eliot Prize. His first collection, Turtle, Swan, appeared in 1987. My Alexandria (1993) received both the Los Angeles Times Book Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award.

Since then he has published Atlantis (1995); Sweet Machine (1998); Source (2001); and the critically acclaimed volume of poems, School of the Arts (HarperCollins, 2005). Fire to Fire: New and Selected Poems was published in 2008 and won the National Book Award for that year. In their citation, the National Book Award judges wrote, “Elegant, plain-spoken, and unflinching, Mark Doty’s poems in Fire to Fire gently invite us to share their ferocious compassion. With their praise for the world and their fierce accusation, their defiance and applause, they combine grief and glory in a music of crazy excelsis.” His next book of poetry, Deep Lane, is forthcoming.

For more information about Mark Doty click here for his bio on The Poetry Foundation wedbsite.