Washington Signature
[ Search and Navigation ]   [ View Full Site ]

The Rose O’Neill

Literary House

Our History

Our history is anything but boring! The famous poster collection that adorns our walls reads like graffiti: Toni Morrison, Allen Ginsberg, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Carolyn Forché, Grace Paley, and Patricia Smith were here.

The Rose O’Neill House was founded in 1970. “Richmond House,” as it was then known, remained in its original structure until 1982.  

Three years later, the Bell House across campus was acquired thanks in part to the generosity of Mrs. Betty Brown Casey ’47 and her husband Eugene B. Casey. The House was renamed in honor of Eugene Casey’s mother, Rose O’Neill Casey.  



James Allen Hall:  2016-present

Jehanne Dubrow:  2011-2016

Mark Nowak:  2009-2011

Joshua Wolf Shenk:  2006-2009

Benjamin Anastas, Interim Director:  2005-2006

Robert Mooney:  1997-2005

Robert Day:  1970-1997