Coronavirus Update: Washington College responds to coronavirus outbreak. More Info


Hall of Fame Founders


The Washington College Alumni Council in 1978, appointed Bernard “Bo” Hardesty, Jr. ’62 as chairman of the Hall of Fame Advisory Committee. The committee composed a set of by-laws and these were reviewed by individuals selected by the committee. The By-Laws were very similar to those used by the Maryland Athletic Hall of Fame. In April of 1979, an Ad Hoc Committee of the Washington College Athletic Hall of Fame, chaired by Basil Tully ’39 was delegated to select a Washington College Hall of Fame Election Committee.

First Meetings

Under the direction of Jay Vogel ’75, Alumni Secretary, the first meeting of the Hall of Fame Committee was held on January 30, 1980. Those attending in addition to Vogel were:

  • Director of Athletics Ed Athey ’47
  • Hurtt Deringer, Jr. ’59
  • Business Manager and Professor Fred Dumschott ’27
  • Dr. Charles B. Clark ’34
  • Dr. A.C. Dick
  • Lacrosse Coach Don Kelly
  • Larry Leonard ’52
  • George Reddish ’65
  • Vice-President of Development George Hayward
  • President of the College Dr. Joseph McLain ’37
  • Basil Tully ’39

One of the first items of business initiated by newly elected President Fred Dumschott was to attempt to place the new organization on a sound fiscal basis.

A letter was addressed to a selected group of Washington College “friends” asking that they contribute $100 each and those so doing would be known as “The Sustaining Founders” of the Washington College Athletic Hall of Fame.

One hundred contributors responded initially and their names were placed on a plaque which is displayed in the Hall of Fame Room. Those individuals known as the “Founders” are:

Robert H. Appleby ’54 William H. Ford ’40 L. Franklin Phares ’55
Edward L. Athey ’47 William B. Gerwig ’82 Norman A. Phillips ’60
John Bacon, Jr. ’52 Albert P. Giraitis ’34 Earl W. Price ’35
Edgar M. Bair ’56 Stanley B. Giraitis ’30 O. Delbert Proudfott ’34
William A. Barnett ’55 Louis L. Goldstein ’35 Maurice L. Rayme ’31
Doris Thistle Bell ’50 Alwood C. Gordy ’23 Howard T. Rayne ’26
Paul L. Blawie ’46 John F. Grim Jr. ’53 Ronald K. Regan, Jr. ’69
Carroll E. Bounds ’19 Bernard O. Hardesty ’62 Frederick Reinhold ’34
Thomas L. Bounds ’55 Grover B. Hastings ’34 Jacob D. Rieger ’28
S. Russell Bozman ’27 Alfred S. Hodgson ’34 Oliver E. Robinson’32
C.L. Brandenburg ’50 Charles B. Hoffman, Jr. ’50 Peter J. Rosen ’68
Walter C. Brandt ’43 Gerald P. Jenkins ’65 Robert A. Ruff, Jr. ’44
George A. Bratt ’21 James C. Jones, Jr. ’47 John Santulli, Jr. ’53
Frank W. Brower, Jr .’51 James N. Juliana ’44 Fred W. Schroeter ’47
Lewis E. Buckley ’55 Michael Kardash ’41 John W. Selby ’41
William J. Burk ’30 Edward F. Keenan ’25 Norman W. Shorb ’38
George F. Carrington ’29 Donaldson N. Kelly Phillip J. Skipp ’37
John J. Carroll ’27 Kent and Queen Anne’s Alumni John P. Sloan ’66
James G. Chalfant ’67 John P. Kirwan ’42 Kirby L. Smith ’48
Charles B. Clark ’34 Edward F. Leonard, Jr. ’51 Marvin M. Smith ’67
John A. Conkling ’65 Laurance A. Leonard’52 Samuel M. Spicer ’57
Ernest S. Cookerly ’49 John M. Lord ’35 James A. Stevens, Jr. ’43
Andrew J. Dail III ’55 Donald F. McHugh ’53 Charles F. Stow III ’58
Robert P. Dean ’31 Joseph H. McLain ’37 Robert H. Thawley ’43
Donald M. Derham ’48 Frank Macielag ’48 John R. Townsend ’81
A.C. Dick Henry F. Maguire ’42 B. Hackett Turner ’30
Fred W. Dumschott ’27 James P. Marvel ’29 Ellery J. Ward ’36
James D. Edwards ’56 William C. Miller ’59 Thomas V. Warthen ’30
Thomas Eliason, Jr. ’42 Herbert L. Moore, Jr. ’59 John M. Warther ’43
Joe S. Elliott, Jr. ’40 Robert A. Moore ’59 Phillip J. Wingate ’33
Edward N. Evans ’37 Howard C. Nesbitt ’48 Leland Ray Wood ’51
Robert L. Everett ’40 William B. Nicholson ’36 H. Gibbons Young ’39
Thomas J. Finnegan ’65 C. Frederick Norris ’28  

Organizational problems forced the Hall of Fame Committee to postpone the first induction ceremony to the fall of 1981. After consideration of several sites for the Hall of Fame, it was finally decided to partition the lobby of the Cain Athletic Center and designate the northern end of the lobby as The Hall of Fame. Duplicate certificates awarded to all Hall of Fame inductees would be housed in this area. Individuals wishing to see the original certificates of all inductees may request admission to the Hall of Fame area.

The first induction took place in Hodson Hall on Oct. 9, 1981. Inductees included: Doris Bell, Alva Burris, Jack Carroll, Bobby Cavanaugh, Fred Dumschott, Jake Flowers, Ed Keenan, Tom Kibler, Bill Nicholson, Ted Norris, Fritz Reinhold and Pete Spedden.