Washington Signature
[ Search and Navigation ]   [ View Full Site ]

Habitat for Humanity

Habitat for Humanity

The Habitat for Humanity Club at Washington College strives to help eliminate poverty housing and homelessness on a local and national level by constructing safe, decent, and affordable homes.

Club Mission:

The world is experiencing a global housing crisis. About 1.6 billion people live in substandard housing and 100 million are homeless, according to the United Nations.

(1) These people are increasingly urban residents, and every week more than a million people are born in, or move to, cities in the developing world.

(2) Today, a billion people — 32 percent of the global urban population — live in urban slums. If no serious action is taken, the United Nations reports that the number of slum dwellers worldwide will increase over the next 30 years to nearly 2 billion.

(3) In the United Sates alone, 95 million people, one third of the nation, have housing problems including payments too large a percentage of their income, overcrowding, poor quality shelter and homelessness.

(4) Throughout the world, people live in inadequate housing, and Habitat for Humanity is dedicated to providing decent, affordable homes for those in need.
We provide community service to our neighbors in need in the local community and beyond, by assisting in every part of the construction of a home from the demolition of old dilapidated structures to the building and painting of new homes. 

Club History:

Every March since 1999, Washington College students have been offered the opportunity to participate in an alternative Spring Break with Habitat For Humanity’s Collegiate Challenge.  Since that time, the Habitat for Humanity Club at Washington College has grown and expanded its volunteer opportunities to include a Fall Break program, Summer Work Weekends, local work days in and around Kent County, and participation in major community events. 

In past years, our group has assisted in every part of constructing a home, from the demolition of old, dilapidated structures to the building and painting of new houses.  The March 2013 challenge consisted of four schools erecting two handicapped-accessible houses, and rehabbing two other homes, with a total of more than 100 volunteers. Each year, the students who participate in this trip come away with a renewed sense of commitment and a deep dedication to community service and helping those in need.

The students who volunteer to participate in Washington College’s Alternative Break programs are responsible for raising part of the monies needed to cover their housing and transportation during the Break week. Donations may be made to WC Habitat For Humanity, and may be sent to the Washington College Business Office.  Scholarships for all activities are made available to active club members.

More information about Habitat For Humanity’s Collegiate Challenge can be found at: http://www.habitat.org/youthprograms/int/collegiate_challenge.aspx

For more information regarding the Washington College Habitat for Humanity Club, please contact:

Amanda Haar, Club President, ahaar2@washcoll.edu

Max Li, Co-Vice President, mli2@washcoll.edu

Maddie Zins, Co-Vice President, mzins2@washcoll.edu

Stag McDyre, Treasurer, mmcdyre2@washcoll.edu

Brit Barr, Secretary, bbarr2@washcoll.edu

Shannon Shirk, Fundraising Director, sshirk2@washcoll.edu

Meredith Andrews, Assistant Fundraising Director, mandrews3@washcoll.edu

Maria Hynson, Student Advisor, at mhynson2@washcoll.edu.