Washington Signature
[ Search and Navigation ]   [ View Full Site ]

C.V. Starr Center for the

Study of the American Experience

Washington Prize

The George Washington Prize recognizes the year’s best works on the nation’s founding era, especially those that have the potential to advance broad public understanding of American history.

2016 George Washington Prize Finalists Announced! 

To mark the holiday celebrating the country’s first president, Washington College today announced seven finalists for the prestigious George Washington Prize. This year’s finalists represent both the depth of new scholarship and the broad expanse of inquiry into the diversity of people and the political, geographic, economic, and social forces that shaped the American Revolution and the early republic. The books, written to engage a wide public audience, provide a “go-to” reading list for anyone interested in learning more about George Washington and his times. Full press release here.

Click on the images below for more information about the authors.

About the Prize

The George Washington Prize honors the year’s best new books on early American history, especially those that have the potential to advance broad public understanding of American history. Created in 2005, the George Washington Prize was presented that year to Ron Chernow for Alexander Hamilton. One of the nation’s largest literary awards, the prestigious $50,000 Prize is sponsored by Washington College, the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, and George Washington’s Mount Vernon.

Each year, a three member jury chooses prize finalists who are announced at Washington College on George Washington’s birthday. A final selection committee reviews the finalists and chooses a winner. The winner is announced at a gala black-tie dinner honoring the finalists at Mount Vernon in May.

Contact Information

Jean Wortman, George Washington Prize Coordinator 
E-mail: jwortman2@washcoll.edu
Telephone: (410) 810-7165
Fax: (410) 810-7175

George Washington Prize 
101 South Water Street
Chestertown, MD 21620