Washington Signature
[ Search and Navigation ]   [ View Full Site ]

The Rose O'Neill

Literary House

Poets Writing the Lyrical Essay: An Evening with Maggie Nelson

Date: 4:30pm EDT October 21

Sponsored by the Rose O’Neill Literary House.


Maggie Nelson is the author of four books of nonfiction, most recently The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning (WW Norton, 2011; named a Notable Book of the Year by the New York Times), and a meditation on the color blue, Bluets (Wave Books, 2009). She is also the author of four books of poetry, including Something Bright, Then Holes (Soft Skull Press, 2007) and Jane: A Murder (Soft Skull, 2005; finalist, the PEN Martha Albrand Award for the Art of the Memoir). Her next book, a work of autobiography and theory provisionally titled The Argonauts, is forthcoming from Graywolf Press in 2015. She has been the recipient of a Guggenheim in Nonfiction, an NEA Fellowship in Poetry, an Arts Writers grant from the Warhol Foundation, and most recently an Innovative Literature grant from Creative Capital. She teaches on the faculty of the School of Critical Studies at CalArts and lives in Los Angeles.

39.218716; -76.066691